Do fish stores sometimes misidentify fish????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DHill33

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I went to the fish store yesterday looking to get 2 more cichlids for my cichlid tank and I’m new to keeping cichlids. Until yesterday I had only 1 black convict cichlid in a 40 Gallon tank I bought and set up about a month and a half ago as my cichlid tank. So I told the guy there, after looking around, I wanted 1 Green Texas Cichlid and 1 Firemouth Cichlid! The Green Texas looks as such, however I’m 100% positive that the “Firemouth Cichlid” is actually a Black Convict Cichlid!!! Looks exactly like the first black convict I bought, only 3/4 inch longer! No red belly what so ever!!! Anyhow, the 2 convicts are together in the same tank and get along very well... I had to put the green Texas in one of my other tanks(29 gallon) and he gets along fine with all the other fish in there. The convicts were trying to beat him up and he wouldn’t even defend himself! So I took him out immediately... anyway, could my experience be a case of fish misidentification??? Will try to get photos of both fish and post if anyone wants me to...

Yep here's proof

They told me my cichlid was a salvini cichlid no mispell! And he looks black with dark gray irridsent stripes!