Filter and stocking questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kjohnson63

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am brand new to trying to have a fish tank. When I was in highschool, which was last here I had a Teacher's Assistant period in which I had to help the Marine Bio teacher, I had to feed the fish (thats it). However, I have started, more like bought a fish tank. I have a 10 gallon tank with a heater, rocks, a air pump, and a filter that only is rated to filter 10 gallons. I have thought of upgrading to a higher power filter such as one that is rated for 30 gallons because I have heard that if I do this I can have more fish in my tank. This leads me to my next question, how many fish can I actually have in the tank, because I have heard many different opinions and read many different statements. The next question is what kind of fish can I have. I have done some research on which fish I think are cool looking and have came up with this; Ghost Shrimp, Silver Lyretail Molly, Fancy Guppy, Otocinclus, Velvet Wag Sword Tail, White Cloud, African Dwarf Frog, Black Molly, Tequila Sunrise Delta Guppy, Mystery Snail, Tiger Barb, Yellow Guppy, Skirt Tetra, Turquoise Guppy, Dalmatian Mollies, and Upside Down Catfish. I don't know if these fish are capable or what but I like them and have saw that they all are capable of living in a 10 gallon tank but I saw that on Petsmart which I have found out aren't very good with their facts.

The only thing I have in the tank currently is rocks, the filter has been going for a week now and have been told I can add fish. However, I also been told that I need to add certain chemicals to the water such as StartRight etc. If I do what chemicals? Also what else do you think I need to get to be able to take good care of the fish I get because I don't want to have poor conditions for the fish.