first live plants. any advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lscotty

Aquarium Advice Regular
83799-albums13152-picture67061.jpg

83799-albums13152-picture67060.jpg

This is my first attempt with live plants. The 1st pic shows the only live plants around the statue. There are supposed to be cryptocoryne wendtii. They look like they are in rough shape right now. They looked better 3 days ago when I first got them. I've read that they tend to "melt" when transplanted but recover so thats what I'm hoping is going on. I know the only plants I can do are low light plants with the lighting I have and I'd prefer not to add co2 unless I have to. My light is a current usa satellite freshwater LED+. Par level is listed at 12"=36 18"=28 24"=21. Im at 30" from light to substrate so I'm guessing as safe par estimate around 10.

I've read that with sand only substrate they wont grow as well and will need fertilizer tabs. What would you reccomend for those? Or would liquid ferts be ok?

Are the rocks I put around the plants to try and keep fish from pulling them up going to hurt anything?

how do you know when you need to a co2? I'd prefer to avoid it but also would like to add more plants if I can keep these alive and couldn't find any specific advice on knowing when its needed.

Any other tips or advice? What I should or shouldn't do. What other plants might work?

My current setup.
150 gallon freshwater.
Cascade 1500 canister filter.
2 Fluval 306 canister filter
2 koralia nano 425s
Pool sand substrate.
4 clown loaches
4 peppered corys
5 kuhli loaches
5 bala sharks
1 highfin spotted pleco