First Salt Water Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Psylk87

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,

I have been keeping fish for several years but have only ever done freshwater tanks. I have an empty 29 gallon tank and was considering converting it into a saltwater tank. I really don't know anything about slatwater tanks other than they are more expensive and harder than freshwater tanks lol. Any advice, thoughts, links to info, and pointers on what I need to do to get started would be great. Also good beginner saltwater fish recs would be amazing. Maybe even stocking levels? Thanks in advance!

Just keep on researching, it's not a minefield, especially if you've got an aquatic background.
I'm 8 months into saltwater and all is well.
Key point in my view is

'You can't rush it'

You could get cardinal fish, yellow tangs, blue tangs, raccoon butterflies,clowns are all fairly easy to keep.

Hello,

I have been keeping fish for several years but have only ever done freshwater tanks. I have an empty 29 gallon tank and was considering converting it into a saltwater tank. I really don't know anything about slatwater tanks other than they are more expensive and harder than freshwater tanks lol. Any advice, thoughts, links to info, and pointers on what I need to do to get started would be great. Also good beginner saltwater fish recs would be amazing. Maybe even stocking levels? Thanks in advance!
don't try to go to fast. I'd get some live sand some rock about 45 pounds, of course you'll need salt, hydrometer, filter. You could wait awhile for a skimmer and an ro unit.

You could get cardinal fish, yellow tangs, blue tangs, raccoon butterflies,clowns are all fairly easy to keep.