First time guppy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hennaartist

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have no idea what I'm doing, or what I've gotten myself into lol.

I recently bought 5 female guppies to add some color to the top of my daughters 29 gallon (she's eight years old, so I maintain the tank). They were apparently pregnant when I bought them. I've never had guppies before. I have two tanks of "my own" with German blue Rams, ropefish, supervail Angels, etc., so in not new to the hobby. However, I am new to guppies, and new to breeding.

Upon googling and realizing they were pregnant, I bought a breeder net box, (was planning to put marbles in it but they weighed too much for the net, so I sewed plastic plant mat to the bottom of it for some coverage, and I plan to float live anachris in the top of it.
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414463867.093691.jpg

My biggest question, is when do I put the guppy in it?
This is a pic of the guppy with the largest belly (which to me looks like she might pop any minute). She did eat dinner as usual, so I don't know if that's a sign that it's still a few days off or not. The only pregnancy/birthing I know about is my own and our dog once lol.ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1414464045.742704.jpg
Please forgive the blurry picture, she didn't want to stay still.

I myself am not a big fan of a breeding box or breeding net. But it does work! Sometimes a female will get stressed in there (not all of them). But when she gets stressed she'll drop fry sooner and also the less developed ones.

Most female livebearers like guppies will eat less and are hiding a bit more before they'll deliver. There are exceptions for sure which just do all the things they're used to and just drop those babies where ever they want. That happens from time to time as well...

The belly can become even bigger than this pic shows...