GBR with hole in the head?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlaseMrNiceguy

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So today I notice a couple of white spots on my GBR and it doesn't really look like ich to me. He has this like white indent on his head next to his eye and on white spot on his rear fin. Anyone know what this is and how to help? Thanks in advance here are some pics.

image-1964560211.jpg

image-2724946043.jpg

image-399185256.jpg

I have no experience with infections and it's hard to tell by your pics, have you read about collumnaris?

I just looked that up it doesn't seem like what he has but I'll keep any eye out to see of he worsens.

Head and Lateral Line Errosion(HLLE) is common in south and central american cichlids, this is normally caused by exposure to high nitrates/poor overall water confitions over time and a poor quality diet.

What are your current tank parameters?
What are you feeding?

I checked about 3 days ago and had 0 ammo. 0 trites and about 40 trates so I did about a 70% change but haven't checked params yet will check as soon as I get home. I feed a combination of hikari cichlid pellets and some flakes.

What are your average nitrate readings?

With regards to the food most Hikari except for Bio-Gold is fairly low end, I would recommend switching to New Life Spectrum Thera exclusively.

Treating HLLE is a long road but it can be done, the pits don't look very deep so as long the problem is corrected the fish will heal.