Glass Catfish Info? (pictures included)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CalvAL5

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys! I'm a newbie here this is my first time starting a thread, with that in mind on to my question. I have seen Glass Catfish (Kryptopterus bicirrhis) for sale at my local fish store and thought they were super cool. Sadly, none of the staff really knew much about the fish and I couldn't find anything related to it on AA here. Does anybody have any information about this fish or could maybe link me a fish profile?

Thanks in advance, Calv

Attachments

• image-3615292089.jpg
    image-3615292089.jpg
    193 KB · Views: 108
That is K.minor. Asian fish. Fresh water, Neutral water, not bothered by mild acid/basic. Slight Soft/slight hard. Maybe 9cm full grown. Feed best on black mosquito larvae. Frozen is fine. School, larger is better 5+(10+ better) Feeds best at lights out, P.M. Prefers dim lighting. Breeding unknown.

Kept for 7 years. 2 separate purchases, would estimate lifespan 5+ years. Easy to keep. Excellent fish, worth it just for the feeding!

Can look in a book for other info?

Like da man say :D

Oh, plus they like a good current in the water.

Oops, there is always something! Yes, this is a river fish! Or more accurately mountain streams. Plants not necessary, rounded river washed stones will make a fine species only environment.

Mine are in a lightly planted community tank. (Plants for the tetra) Peaceful.

To confirm mine mainly congregate around return pipe from filter(s)