Going on Vacation... what to do with the fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mandy2936

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello,
In the beginning of March I'm off from school for spring vacation and will be going away for 7 days. I currently have a 20g tank and a 5g tank. The 5g might be able to be carried to a neighbor, but obviously the 20g can't.

Do automatic feeders actually work? What is the best thing I can do? For the 5g Betta, if I can find a willing neighbor, what is the best way to transport it in the car? Should I lower the water level in the tank, and put the Betta in a bag or something for the ride? How should I go about this whole thing?

The longest I've gone away from my fish tanks so far (they are relatively new!) is 3 days, so clearly I am new to this.

Thank you very much for the advice :D

Never used an automatic feeder but what I did was pre-measure the fish food and had someone come over and feed the fish once a day. I think those automatic feeders are a good idea though and I'll use it next time we go away :)

I know this sounds mean, but you could put a few ghost shrimp (Really cheap at petstores) in the tank, slowly, the fish will get hungry and eat them off in time. Ive done this a few times and its worked. Im not sure how im going to feed the fish next time im gone, I have some amano shrimp that I dont want to loose!

Ive never used Automatic feeders, but Ive heard mixed reports of them being good and bad. If you do get one, Make sure to get one that you can pre-set the food in so that you wont over feed the fish.

As far as draining the tank,

First: Get the betta out of the tank and into a small fish bowl/ container with tank water.

Second: Drain the tank until little, to no water is left.