Gold and Bolivian Rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HAnnAH10gal

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 20 gal tank with a ph of 7.4 and my water is hard but I'm not sure how hard...it leaves calcium deposits on filters. I have been told no type of ram will live for too long with these water conditions however someone else who is an expert said I could do it. What do I believe??

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

In Utah, i am able to do pretty well with my blue rams. From what I know, Bolivian rams are much hardier than the blue rams.

I am no expert but I have seen a spawn once (i have other posts on my issues) with a pH of 8.

I know they are a fairly temperamental fish, but if you can get them locally, chances are, they will be just fine.

Bolivian rams are much hardier than GBR.
Unfortunately GBR are over bred for their beautiful coloring but they have ended up a very fragile breed. I've had 2 pair die within 1 week of getting them and it's very sad to watch.
The Bolivians which have a great personality are just very hardy. I'd suggest you start there...

Bolivians temp should be around 78 and GBR at least 82

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I have liquid rock for water and have had both bolivian and german rams. They both did great outside of being bullies. I now only keep 1 bolivian ram with my angels, who are tough enough to stand up to his occasional play for territory. Clean, healthy water is the key..........PH and hardness are all not that crucial in keeping fish, but I am sure others will disagree with me.

If you can find locally bred rams chances are they'll be ok. It's all about the means in which they be been bred and raised.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app