Growing Beneficial Bacteria

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

isaacsbees

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the hobby. I have a 55-gallon tank with two small goldfish in it. My filtration right now consists of two large sponge filters with lots of airflow, each supposedly rated for 60 gallons. I used Prime for dechlorination and used a whole 16oz bottle of FritzZyme 7 to start the growth of nitrifying bacteria. I added the fish to the tank on the first day (the FritzZyme bottle said I could, but it seems like this might have been a bad idea), and the tank has been running for six days. Here are my water parameters as of today (tested with API freshwater master test kit):

pH: 7.5
Ammonia: 1.0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm
Temperature: 72°F

I've stopped feeding to keep the ammonia down. I've been dosing Prime every other day to detoxify the ammonia. My fish don't show any difference in behavior, but I'm still worried about them.

I've gotten a wide variety of conflicting advice on what to do. Some are telling me to wait it out. Others are saying to do a water change right away. Still others are saying to turn up or down the temperature to either boost the bacteria (increase) or make the ammonia less toxic (decrease). I'm very confused and concerned, and I'm humbly asking for your informed opinions. The one thing I don't want to do is get rid of the fish.

Thank you all!

-Isaac

You are doing what is called a fish in cycle. You need to control toxic ammonia and nitrite through water changes. Your target should be to keep ammonia + nitrite combined no higher than 0.5ppm. Your current wated parameters are double that, so a 50% water change will bring this down to that target (assuming your new water contains zero ammonia).