Help! I am semi-clueless. I would like to transition to Discus in my aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sgwallis12

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I received a 55 gallon aquarium for Christmas, and a 12 gallon for Valentines Day. I am totally new to the hobby. I have stocked with community fish and lightly planted (app. 15 plants in the 55, and 4 in the 12). I am doing 20% water changes once a week and testing my water quality at least twice a week. My ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate are all perfect. My ph has leveled at 7.0. I currently have 3 Gouramis, 1 Royal Tiger Pleco, 1 Featherfin, (please bare with me I have no clue as to the scientific names), as well as a pair of Mickey Mouse Platys (with 6 baby Platys), 1 blue lobster and 1 Red Tail Shark. The Platy's have been moved to the 12 gallon due to the fact that they keep reproducing. The rest are in the 55. I also have a T-5 HO 2-tube light, (I think it is a total of 100 watts), and lunar lights (only because they are really cool.) I would like to transition over to mostly Discus. I have been waiting until I learned more before I spent that kind of money on fish. I have app. 40# of finer black rock over 30# of Flourite for my substrate. I am using 2 Fluval 205 canister filters. I have 1 large and 1 medium piece of Driftwood, and one large smooth white rock. What do I need to change in order to introduce Discus? I am already shopping for a 29 gallon for my daughters room and plan on transferring what fish I can't keep in the 55 with Discus. Are there certain fish that I can't keep with the Discus? Are there certain plants that I should get? What is the best way to start introducing them? PLEASE advise!

Welcome to the site! I would post your questions in the FW section, where you will get a lot more responses.