Help with Harlequins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

acsrmjq

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I'm new to tropical fish keeping and I have tried to prepare and research properly before introducing fish species. I am however having some problems with Harlequin Rasboras that I have been introducing. I initially added 6 to my 32g tank. They initially all seemed to settle in well but one, smaller specimen died after a couple of weeks. Water parameters seemed fine (see below) so I assumed I had just purchased a small, weak fish. I decided to add a 3 more a week later. These again seemed to settle in fine, but in the last week I have now lost another 3 (two from the new batch). One death was sudden but the others went in a familiar pattern of becoming withdrawn from the shoal, not eating and getting thin before dying. The fish were introduced using floating bag/gradual water change' method.

My water/tank details are:

Juwel Rio 125 with Bioflow 3 filter, including Cirax, running for two months.

Ph: 7.6
Temp: 26 Celsius
Ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 20ppm although I must confess it was reading 80ppm when first one died. I have since introduced API Nitra-Zorb.
I change approx 33% of the water once a week
Tank mates: 6 Cherry Barbs (which are doing well).
The water is moderately hard.

Now I know from my research that Rasboras live wild in softer, acidic water but the general consensus in my online research and info from the LFS is that they will adapt readily to my harder, alkaline water (my LFS is only a few hundred metres away so presumably has similar water).

So, have I made a mistake in adding Rasboras? Am I doing anything incorrectly? Are my remaining 5 Rasboras likely to be OK ( the shoal appear to be thriving at present)?

Any advice much appreciated.

Matt Quish