Help with my plants!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

animallover09

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am very new to plants. I bought these a couple of months ago and they are starting to look sick. I'm not sure if my fish are messing with them or I'm just doing a horrible job of keeping them alive.

I'm not even sure what kind of plant they are. I just bought them from Petco and put them in my tank.

Do I need more lighting? I'm not even sure what these plants need. I'm really thinking I should have research plants before diving into them.

Attachments

• CAM00904.jpg
    CAM00904.jpg
    221.2 KB · Views: 79
  • CAM00889.jpg
    CAM00889.jpg
    191.6 KB · Views: 74
  • CAM00905.jpg
    CAM00905.jpg
    207.3 KB · Views: 72
Hi Animallover.
Your middle pic shows a sign above the tank - 'Love is all you need'. True, but I think your plants need a little bit extra :)
They look to be planted in sand - do you have root tabs for nourishment. That might help. Plants also need a carbon source - dissolved Co2 in water is very low compared with the atmosphere. Liquid carbon such as Excel or Glut would help. I'm not very up on lights as I run my tank on normal T8 bulbs for 13 hours a day, something not normally encouraged by the plant enthusiasts on here, but I do have excellent growth and minimal algae. Pressurised Co2 is a big step up, with a high cost to purchase, but fairly cheap to run.
So to start with I would use root tabs if you're not already and consider liquid carbon. I wouldn't expect existing poorly leaves to recover but new growth should be stronger and greener.
Good luck and keep the pictures coming in.
Steve.

Looks like a sword of some type, such as melon sword and I agree with the above poster, you need root tabs.