Help with plant care/fertilization

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BLUElobster99

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Ok so im new to live plants so i guess you could call me a noob

What do i need to know to care for my plants?
What kind of fertilizer do i use?
My LFS told me to use Flourish excel carbon with every water change
Is carbon dangerous to any of my fish/inverts?
5 checkered barbs
2 balloon molllies
1 zebra danio
1 juliochromis
1 pleco
2 crayfish (lobsters)

I am very worried about using the carbon because it might harm my to crays (electric blue and orange mexican dwarf) cost me $70 together and they are very healthy at the moment

So anyways my tank is 30 gallons
I have a standard light so nothing special but the tank is near a window
My brother got a special light for his aquatic plants
Is that necessary?

Please help, major novice here!

Flourish Excel has directions on the bottle that say to dose every other day. Some people on here (myself included) prefer to do a half-dose daily.

I don't have any experience with crayfish specifically, but I have had two bamboo shrimp for two weeks and they're doing great.

If you're not dosing co2 you don't need to use excel. What you need is flourish comprehensive and dose once a week since you only have standard lighting. Comprehensive has everything you need.

I also noticed your stock of fish and that you have 1 zebra danio. This is a schooling fish and needs a group of at least 6 to be at ease. Having just that one will lead it to constant stress. You have the room for them. To the pleco, is this a common pleco, if so it needs at least a 55 gallon tank and will quickly outgrow this 30 if it already hasn't .