HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alvernia97

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 20 gallon salt water fish. My goal is to maintain 3-4 fish my water is normal all my fish keep dying i went through over 12 currently i have onky one clown fish that is showing signs of distrest i have every chemical book please legt me know how to keep a sucessfull tank of only 20 gallon it would be much apprecitated

First of all what kind of filtration are you.using and what the flow.in.your tank

I appreciate your response ans your assistance there all dead now so I am running a salt water tank 20 gallon with no fish...my filiter is an Aquefena 50 hand over filter with carbon foam and what looks like litte corks screws......

I am not ready to add any fish i was thinking to perhaps let the tank run for a month empty?

Im not a pro like a lot ppl here but I could tell you what I know . When I first started my reef tank after so many years in.just saltwater fish only I run the tank with live rock amd.let.it.cycle for 6-8 weeks before I put anytjing.in.it . Now I have it for a year and.so far so.good .what kind water you using ? Ro or.tap ?

Sounds like your tank maybe wasn't fully cycled? Letting it run for a month before adding any more fish is a good idea, but you'll need to add a source of ammonia to make sure you have a good strong cycle that is capable of handling a fish and its waste. Toss in a piece of raw shrimp or fish and let it rot. It'll smell bad, but it actually is good for you tank and building up the BB. what's your specific gravity at? Have you tested your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

once again I appeciate all the help....First is how do i know when my tank is cycled according to my local fish store my tank has already cycled as they tested me water to be satisfactory

Is there an indicator that shows when cycling is complete