Hey

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Katfish85

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Katfish85 said:
Hey everyone,
I'm really new to all of this but hope to gain more knowledge of fish care as I have two goldfish that I have adopted from a friend.
I have a 35 litre tank although I feel this may be a bit small for two at 2 1/2 inches long.
I am having a bit of a problem tho one of my fish has just recently got a wound on its side which appears to by bulging with a with substance I am extremely confused as to what this is and how it has happened. Does anyone have an idea what it could be?
I do a water change every two weeks (is this frequent enough?) and they appear to have been fine up to now.
I am a complete novice when it comes to my fish but I do worry I'm doing the wrong thing if anyone has any ideas I'd really appreciate it x
Ive attached some pics

I'm pretty sure that tank is extremely small for goldfish, especially for 2. I don't have them but from what I understand from what I've read is that goldfish have EXTREMELY high bio loads and need at the very least 20 gallons PER FISH. so you should definitely rehome or purchase a larger tank because if they don't need it immediately, they will need it pretty soon.
As for your white scape/cut thing, it looks like a possibly serious infection, but I have no experience with infections at all so I hope someone can give you some advice. People who stick with goldfish absolutely love them so I hope you get things fixed and get to enjoy your new fish!

Thank you so much for your advice.