How long to leave lights on for?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Smitty

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok, I went through the stickies and the top and did a quick search, but I'm not very good at that, which is probably why I couldn't find the answer.

I currently have a 55g tank with plants. I have 2x67 watt and 1x40 watt lights going on, no C02 (and I really don't want to). My plants aren't doing as well as I would like.

How long a day should the lights be on? Right now I have them on from 11 AM until 7 PM (8 hours). Should I increase this?

I know... what kind of plants... I'm bad at that.

I will post a pic tonight once home from work because I did get some new ones, but the biggest problem one is an amazon sword. It is sending out shoots with new leaves, but the big plant's leaves are all dying and it isn't growing at all.

Thanks!

What kind of lights do you have? If that is usable wattage that the plants can use, you need some kind of carbon supplement and dosing.

Agreed- depending on what spectrum of lights you are using, with that much wattage, co2 and fertilization may be required. Also, post a pic of your sword. There are some nonaquatic swords that are sold as aquatic plants. If you have one of these varieties, the amount of light will be inconsequential.

As a general rule of thumb you want to have your lights on for 8-12 hours each day. Longer for growing in a scape and shorter for maintaining a scape or fighting algae. From your description of plant growth I would suspect a nutrient deficiency instead of a lack of light. Pictures along with additional information about about your current dosing schedule would be helpful. But the problem is most likely the lack of CO2. Since you don't want to deal with CO2, you'd be better off cutting back on your lighting.