How To?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MU-fishies

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new at fish. I'm also in College. So something simple and easy? I already have fish, but am willing to get more to make baby fishies!! I have one snail, a pink and yellow neon tetra, a guppy which I was told is male, and a black skirt tetra. I'm not sure if any of them can breed seeing as they are all a different species, except the neon tetras. How can you tell if a fish is male or female? Any advice on how to breed?

MU-fishies said:
I'm new at fish. I'm also in College. So something simple and easy? I already have fish, but am willing to get more to make baby fishies!! I have one snail, a pink and yellow neon tetra, a guppy which I was told is male, and a black skirt tetra. I'm not sure if any of them can breed seeing as they are all a different species, except the neon tetras. How can you tell if a fish is male or female? Any advice on how to breed?

The thing is with tetras is they need a school of at least 6 of their own kind and some of them need quite alot of swimming space. Unfortunately your tank is too small for your fish. I would recommend upgrading. Since your new to the world of fish keeping I will attach some links with some very important info for you to have a read through.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...g-but-I-already-have-fish-What-now/Page2.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling-148283.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/fish-in-cycling-step-over-into-the-dark-side-176446.html
I would also like to highly recommend you do some research on the types of fish you have.