I have unexpected residents!! What are they?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ironskillet

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am brand new to this and in the process of doing a fishless cycle for my new 55 gallon freshwater tank. I've had the tank for about 2.5 weeks. Today I found 3 of these guys attached to the glass. I'm assuming they are some type of snail that hitched a free ride on the plants I bought from the fish store a little over a week ago.

They are about the size of a pin head. Does anyone know what kind they are? Should I be concerned or happy that I got free snails with my plants?

Thanks

Attachments

• image1.jpg
    image1.jpg
    203.5 KB · Views: 151
You are absolutely right! They're kinda cute but are parasites.. They reproduce like crazy (even when there is just one). I I take them out..

Looks like pond snails. You should probably be concerned, unless you would like your tank covered in hundreds of them soon (one member I encountered did actually want this). They can reproduce asexually so they can multiply very, very fast. I usually remove them from my tank when I see them, or smash them with my finger. If you can see a few, there are probably more that you can't see. On the bright side, they usually don't become a problem if you are careful about gravel vacuuming and not over feeding :)

... Snails are not parasites.

Khuligirl93 is 100% correct? BUT you could let them reproduce like crazy, and have about 1000 of them, THEN get 5 striatia botia (which happen to be awesome fish)and they will devour all of them in a couple days. Then they will be very happy, and you can watch them go to town. Just trying to make lemonade out of lemos!

Thanks for the replies so far.