I'm new and need help pleeeease

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pam v

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi

I'm new to aquarium keeping, I started in October with 2 black mollies, and have gradually been building my stock up. It's been a bit hit and miss to be fair, i check the water etc and all's been going fine, but unfortunatley i have lost a few fish along the way.
At the moment i need help as i bought 5 more mollies on Friday and on saturday morning one appears to have had fry, i ran out and bought a net and managed to catch one of the fry who is in the breeding net, mother appears to be doing well in the tank with the rest of the fish. My problem is what to i do with this little fish? I have mashed up fish flakes and put on the end of a coctail stick and put it in the net but it doesn't swim to the top to take it, i'm afraid it may be starving on its own. I think there may be more babies hiding about the tank i caught a quick glance of one them but couldn't get it as it was in the ship wreck.
Another question how often should i be feeding all these fish, the pet store said every 3 days, the internet says 3 times a day, another store said once a day, i'm confused i don't want to over feed and kill them off with high ammonia levels any advice gratefully appreciated.:confused:

I kept some fry in a net, but when I decided they were mature enough to come out I was wrong, hopefully someone on the forum can guide you through it, but all the research I did seemed to suggest putting them in another tank..

Don't over-feed the fish, that IS important. It will raise the ammonia level to unmanageable levels, will grow fungus and raise your algae levels to pain in the butt heights, you don't want that.