Is my goldfish normal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Foxy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

Complete aquarium newbie here. I just purchased a tank with someone and it already had lots of goldfish in it. However, there is one which behaves rather strangely. It is always sitting on the bottom of the tank, occasionally just sprinting to the top catching a breath of air so to speak and then letting itself fall back on the gravel by gravity only. After a few seconds, it then burps out a bubble.

Does not feed, does not swim around etc. It has this big bump on its head as well, please see pictures. I do not know if this is normal of this species, but the other goldfish don't have it (although they're orange, not white) and the only other white goldfish in the tank has a red "crown" but not as big as this one.

Is this a tumour? Should I be concerned? I am not sure if the fish is sick or not. I hope one of you out there can recognise this :)

Thanks!!

Foxy.

Attachments

• photo-3.jpg
    photo-3.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 80
  • photo-4.jpg
    photo-4.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 74
  • photo-5.jpg
    photo-5.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 74
  • photo-6.jpg
    photo-6.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 79
The bump is normal that's just part of the fish. What size tank is this? Also, you said you had a lot of goldfish in there. How many? Also what are your water parameters?

Hi!

Thanks for the reply :)

This is a 300L tank (70 US gallons I think). The water parameters are fine at 0 for both ammonia and nitrites, this was an established tank I just moved and didn't change filters etc.

The fish was already exhibiting this behaviour for about 2 weeks before the tank was moved anyway. According to the previous owner, he was only depressed because its "partner" died some weeks ago? Is this for real?