Is my plec dead?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Soph96

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey, I’m new to this forum so I don’t know if I’m posting to the right section, if not I’m sorry...

I’m new to fish as in only had them for 2 months, we have mollys and neon in a tropical water tank, temperature is at 26C and we’ve had the water tested and all is fine.

Today I’ve bought a pleco, he’s approx only 4cm and he is an albino, he was really enjoying himself as first exploring the whole tank, however I’ve gone to feed the fish and noticed he was upside down on the bottom of the tank, I’ve called the aquatic shop I bought him from and I’ve been told that this is normal for pleco?

Has anyone else experienced this because I am convinced he is dead, however I’ve been advices to leave him in the tank as he could just be resting

Not just if they are upside down, not attached to wood or glass, etc. Belly up? Means belly up for this type fish. They do not lay on their backs. Gently touch the sand or rocks next to him. See if there is movement, if not try a little closer. You can use the edge of a net. He may be very ill and might righr himself temporarily, and you may find him, once again upside down or later dead.

Do you know about the nitrification cycle. The article link below in my signature will explain, and you may need to do some goid water changes.

Thank you, unfortunately he was dead, poor little guy! I’ve contacted the shop that we bought him from and they seemed to not really care so hopefully it wasn’t a disease or anything in their tank as they haven’t took any notice of me...