Is my tank okay?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EvanWells

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I have a 29G freshwater tank. It has 5 plants in it and 12 fish +2 snails. I have been using RO water for about 2 months. Everything is fine. MY fish are happy, although all of my plants seem to be dying. Regardless, I am new to tanks and want to make sure im doing eveyyrhting right. Am I okay to keep topping off with RO water and doing water changes with RO water? I don't want to wake up one day and have all my fish dead, Thanks for any input!

If your using pure RO your plants may have a mineral deficiency,

Fishobsessed7

Money Can't Buy Happiness, But It Can Buy Fish Which Is Pretty Much The Same Thing

If your using pure RO your plants may have a mineral deficiency,

Fishobsessed7

Money Can't Buy Happiness, But It Can Buy Fish Which Is Pretty Much The Same Thing

I am using pure RO. What are my solutions, and I don't have a test kit because I am unsure of what kind I need.

Use only, 100%, tap water?

I'm saying why are you not using tap anyway? For most of us it's much faster and easier to just use tap.

There's nothing wrong with RO, but 100% RO is what's hurting your plants because RO removes all the nutrients that are present in the water.

Caleb

I'm saying why are you not using tap anyway? For most of us it's much faster and easier to just use tap.

There's nothing wrong with RO, but 100% RO is what's hurting your plants because RO removes all the nutrients that are present in the water.

Caleb

I just assumed tap water was bad. So is it cool if I transition to all tap?

I am using pure RO. What are my solutions, and I don't have a test kit because I am unsure of what kind I need.

An API master freshwater kit will provide a good base of test.
I believe if you want GH/KH test they are a separate purchase.