jays tank need help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jmeheliboy

Aquarium Advice Activist
hi all

so i have been keeping fish for about two years but 2 mouths ago
my wife got me the aquaone 275 cube marine tank with sump but i use it as freshwater but really need some help from people who know what there talking about the plan was for it to be a planted tank but the plant are not doing well at all im use eco-complete substrate and trying to grow hairy grass and a red plant that i dont know the name of :facepalm: i started using diy co2 2 days ago
my plants just seem to be dyeing away
dose any one no what im doing wrong

greetings.

the lights used for marine/saltwater tanks is usually above 10k kelvin degrees, which is not suited for plants. this could be one of your troubles, also what fertilizer are you using?

Can you give us a complete rundown of the tank? Lights, ferts, how you're injecting co2, plants, parameters, and anything else you can think of?

hi thanks for reply
ok lights are 4 t5 24w all 4 are for high plant growth im using eco-compete substrate and i be told but maidenhead aquatics i will not need fert for about 6 months im using home made co2 but had to restrict it a little because all my fish where gassing from the top i have not tested the co2 level because i dont have a text kit for that :( nitrate holds at about 5ppm there are some pics if you click on my name i just dont know how to get them on my post :banghead: