Lighting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cltpigskin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I am really new to planted aquariums so sorry for the basicness of my questions.

My setup is a 90 gallon tank, ecocomplete substrate, fluvial 405 filter, 2 65w odyssa 12000k bulbs. 2 65w true actinic bulbs. I have 3 pearl Gouramis, 3 moonlight gouramis, 3 Cory cats, 2 honeypot gouramis, and 4 ruby red barbs.

I am looking to keep some basic plants( some swords, java ferns, mollyworts) nothing too fancy to start and am wondering if I Have the correct light. I can tell you that I have no problem growing algae with my current configuration.
If you recommend that I increase the light where should I begin?
How is the 1.5-2 watts per gallon calculated? Am I currently at roughly 2.75w per gallon or am I not figuring it out right? When will I Need to worry about adding co2 to the tank?

Thank you for your time.

The lights you have currently are useless in a planted aquarium. The temp is just too high. You need lights in the 5500k-8000k color range.

Hard to say... The calculation isn't really Watts/Gallon. Some people will try to lead you to think that way, but it's just not the case. Watts are merely a measurement of energy drawn by the bulb, not a measure of raw light output. The amount of light is what you want to calculate per gallon.

Right now I have under 2000 lumens for my 29G planted tank. That really wasn't enough as my 24W T12 and 17W T8 bulbs just couldn't put out enough light for my plants to grow. Instead, they started to wilt and brown...

I purchased myself a new fixture using T5HO bulbs. T5s put out far more light for the energy the draw. This is what's called luminous efficacy. The more Lm/W, the more efficient the bulb. Even a single T5 bulb at 24W will provide more light than both my current bulbs combined.