Lionfish Identification and Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SaltyFBCoach

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just went to the LFS and they had a dwarf lionfish. It was red, perhaps on the rusty side, with blue lines on the inside of the pectoral fins. It doesn't look like any of the other lions on liveaquaria etc... They are selling it as a Blue Fin Dwarf Lionfish. It is the most amazing fish I have seen and haven't seen one like it in the 6months I have been visiting the LFS.

I am thinking of adding it to my tank. I currently have a 3" lonhhorn cowfish, 7 med/lg chromis, 4" foxface. Each fish is larger than the lion can consume. I hope to add two black and white clowns and a coral beauty in the future to finish off my capacity.

Feeding and care concerns? I am new to the hobby.

I run a sump with protein skimmer and have a little live rock and a large amount of none live rock and intend on buying more as I can. Crushed coral is my substrate.

This is a predator. Do you want that in your tank? The present fish may or may not be in immediate danger, but as the lionfish grows, anything new certainly is a potential menu item...and don't be fooled...Their mouths are bigger than their stomachs. Even as small as they are (adults ranging about 4" to 6"), they can take down some amazing sized fish. You also might have to deal with live food if the lion refuses frozen food which would also mean much more waste in the system. You should upgrade your bio if you do get the lion.

The chromis definitely would be food. I do not see what size tank you have but you already list a pretty decent load so I am hoping it is a bigger tank. You list 4 possible new additions of which, 2 will be food for the lion as well.