Live rock layout recommendations & coral layout

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wael El-Dasher

Aquarium Advice Activist
I know I'm getting a head of myself, given that my new 120 gallon tank is almost cycled and will just about be ready for live rock sometime mid next week, and it will be quite some time before I can put in the corals. But I can't help it. I'm an architect and feel that I must design this layout now so it can go through the usual design phases and refinements before any physical work is done or any purchases made.

According to an online calculator I found, for a 450 liter (120 gallon) tank, I'll need about 80Kg (180 lbs) of live rock. I also read it's advisable not to purchase all the live rock from a single source. As part of my aquarium purchase deal, I paid for 50Kg (110lbs) of live rock which I'm yet to pick and get from the place I bought my tank.

Live rock is aquacultured here because it's considered endangered, so the typical price is much higher than in the US, it's about $28/Kg ($48/lb). I managed to settle on $14/Kg ($30/lb) with the aquarium shop so they're selling it to me at a price a little above their cost.

I plan to purchasing the balance of the live rock from another place, so before getting to that step, I need to have an idea what overall form do I want to give this reef so I know what sort of LR shapes to select. I've seen several designs online of people's tanks and it seems there are 4 general forms followed.

1. A linear ridge looking formation which extends from one end to the other.
2. A heap shape which peaks near the center
3. A central heap with a hole in the middle
4. Something between 1 & 3 but with 2 holes.

I suspect the key here has to do more with the planned corals that will be places on the LR.