Lost Pleco

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TEC5154

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. I am new to the aquarium hobby. I recently bought a common pleco and now I can't find it anywhere in my tank. There aren't too many hiding spots besides the inside of a big piece of drift wood. This may sound stupid but I am worried he died and could possibly be polluting my tank. Any suggestions??? Thanks.

Test your tank water. If he has died and is decaying in your tank, you will see a spike in your ammonia levels.

Did you check the inside of the piece of driftwood?

Plecos are nocturnal. Shut your lights off for a while and then inspect the tank for a while. You should see him swimming around if he is still there.

Good luck!

[center:ab9a0249bb] :smilecolros: Welcome to AA, TEC5154!! :n00b: [/center:ab9a0249bb]

Plecos are amazing~they can cram themselves into tight fitting spaces. Aside from testing the water parameters, I would pull out the log. If he's in there and alive, he will come out :wink:

just make sue that the fish is not on the wood when you take it out. This happened to me, and I was suprised to see my pleco flopping around my room.

Not once but twice I had a pleco dissappear. Both times I pulled my tank apart to never find them. I swear I went crazy for a week looking all around the outside of my tank for them.

I'm not the reddest apple on the tree but I think I bought magically plecos. I'd sell you one if I could find the darn thing.

Yes, Plecos can flop quite a way, they have a redundant organ that lets them breath air, so he can flop until he dries out.

I'ld say pull the log out aswell.

I found it. It wasd deep down in the log. Must have been in there for about 3 days because I haven't seen it in awhile. Thanks for everyone's replies.