Moss balls

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishieMomma

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a newbie and interested in the moss balls PetsMart sells. I would never buy a fish from their tanks, but would it hurt the community tank I'm establishing to get moss balls from there? Do I put them in a QT for a month like fish?

I got a floating java moss ball from PetCo and it was fine. Look for one in a tank without dead or sick fish. I know their water systems connect all the tanks, but I still have had better luck if the exact tank I chose something from had no unhealthy/dead fish. I do not think you have to quarantine it, but I would recommend taking some of your tank water and rinsing the ball out really well before adding it. Quarantine couldn't hurt I suppose, but I do not know that it is necessary.

absolutangel04 said:
I got a floating java moss ball from PetCo and it was fine. Look for one in a tank without dead or sick fish. I know their water systems connect all the tanks, but I still have had better luck if the exact tank I chose something from had no unhealthy/dead fish. I do not think you have to quarantine it, but I would recommend taking some of your tank water and rinsing the ball out really well before adding it. Quarantine couldn't hurt I suppose, but I do not know that it is necessary.

Thanks for the info! I don't really want to mess with real plant yer but the moss balls are so cool looking and someone told me they would do well during the fishless cycle i've just started.

Anyone else chiming in?

Petsmart also sells them in cups(kinda like the bettas but green. Same price) so you don't have to worry about their water getting into your tank.