My first planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GlassmanMD

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I decided to give a sand base with plants a try. I have always been into the aquarium lifestyle and I would love to be able to do some great tanks someday lol. Im currently in an apartment and space is limited but I am a professional glass guy by trade so I hope to build my own tankS very soon. I'm waiting mortgage approval lol.

Anyway, I'm currently cycling my little 10gallon tank with a sand bottom. It has a little castle thing in it I'm really fond of. I'm hoping to get something viney or carpet like to cover it for a more natural look. I might be going driftwood hunting this weekend. If I find something I really like the castle may get tossed in favor of a nice piece of wood.

As the tank stands right now I'm using a Marineland LED light I cant remember the specs offhand lol. The tank also gets a good amount of afternoon sun which I'm sure isnt the best thing but there really is no where else to put it.

So my questions would be: What would be some easy to maintain plants? IS there any favortie carpet type or viney plant to cover the castle or maybe some driftwood? I have been looking into Java fern and some java moss. Also some Star moss for some ground cover. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time. :thanks:

I know it's out of level and needs more water :p

Attachments

• IMAG0054.jpg
    IMAG0054.jpg
    151 KB · Views: 103
You got it! Java Moss and Java Fern are pretty much zero requirement plants. If you have SOME light, and some nitrates (fish poop) you're good to go.