My Small Beginner Tanks - Showcase and Advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SansyFrance

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello All :wave:,
I am new to the hobbyist fish world, but I am already loving it and ready to learn so much and expand. Like alot of people I've met, my fish love began about 6 months ago with a small fair fish. I was so excited to get this fish and immediately took to the internet. The information I got was wrong, I ended up putting the poor thing in a one gallon bowl with too much decor. Needless to say, that little guy didn't make it very long :facepalm:
After that I decided that I wanted to take fish more seriously, and began researching. I am currently a student, meaning I don't exactly have the funds to expand my fish and aquarium collection as much as I'd like to, but this is at least a start.
My first tanks is my main, community tank :fish2:
img_3340779_0_80024108acd7aee909b81c22b41fddef.jpg

This tank is a 10 gallon tank housing one male Platy, one male juvenile Betta, one black mystery snail, and one Albino Cory Cat.
Its decor includes four real plants, along with several of the softer artificial plants. It also has a heater and a filter. The substrate used is some compatible with plants that I bought at my local pet store.

My second tank is a housing tank for my two pregnant female Platies
img_3340779_1_583ff72211ecf34e28e93a9eb5035897.jpg

This tank is a smaller 5 gallon tank with a filter that is not on (as I don't know when the two females will have their babies and I don't want the fry to get sucked into the filter) and a heater. The substrate is 80% regular rocks mixed with 20% of the above mentioned plant-safe substrate.It includes one artificial plant mat (for when the babies are born for immediate protection until they can be moved to their tanks), one hide, and one artificial plant.