Need Advice for my 3 Tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jc102

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys,

I am still relatively new to the fishkeeping hobby. I think I've done okay for someone who started out with zero knowledge on how to properly care for fish. I started with a 10 gallon tank, and then added a betta tank for my desk, and then my sister decided that she wanted one as well. So they were all setup at different times. I've done a lot of research throughout the 4 months that I've had my fish and I have a few questions about where I should go from here.

I took a hiatus on testing the water of the tanks (about 2-3 weeks) as I was out of town. I had a friend do water changes and feedings while I was away.

Here is my setup:

Tank 1
  • 10 Gallon
  • Whisper filter (no flow control)
  • Stocked with 5 glo-fish
  • Under gravel heater
  • Blue and White LED lighting

Tank 2 - Setup 2 weeks after tank 1
  • 5 Gallon
  • Whisper filter (with flow control)
  • Stocked with 1 betta
  • Small betta heater
  • White LED lighting

Tank 3 - Setup 2 weeks after tank 2
  • 5 Gallon
  • Whisper filter (with flow control)
  • Stocked with 1 betta
  • Small betta heater
  • White LED lighting

----------------
I setup the 10 gallon (tank 1) aquarium up about 4 months ago. It seems as though it has finally gotten through the nitrogen cycle.

Water test from this morning:
Tank 1
  • Ammonia: 0ppm
  • Nitrite: 0ppm
  • Nitrate: ~10-20ppm

I setup one of the 5 gallon tanks (tank 2) about 2 weeks after setting up tank 1 (10 gallon). It sits on my desk. The last time I tested the water, I had very high ammonia readings and everything else was 0.

The second 5 gallon tank (tank 3) was setup 2 weeks after setting up tank 2. It's ammonia has also been high and everything else has been 0.

Water test from this morning:
Tank 2
  • Ammonia: ~2-3ppm