Need some advice with my Corydoras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mollyelzie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone……

My Corydoras are all thriving and doing great. Expect one. He is swimming to the surface every 1 minute (literally about every 30 seconds). I have a air pump and two filters so there’s a lot of water movement ect.

I am very new to fish keeping as I took these fish from my sister because she was keeping them in a 1 gal fishbowl with no filter or heater….so I’m trying to learn everything as fast as I can. I’ve had them a few months and have learnt alot, I understand the nitrate cycle ect.

I understand it’s normal for Corydoras to swim to the top for air occasionally but this is just concerning.

I have a 15 gallon tank and 5 cories in there. I don’t have a test kit yet so I couldn’t tell you my ammonia, nitrates ect. I am saving to get one. I also have a heater so it couldn’t be temperature.

I just really want to help this poor cory I am so concerned for him. Nobody else is acting weird so I am very scared.

Could this be a sign of illness? I will take any advice I can get.

I just went to the store to ask for some advice and they said maybe he isn’t getting enough food. I feed them blood worms and pellets. She just sold me some granules and he is eating it all up and is no longer going to the surface every two seconds. I will continue watching my little pickles (that’s his name because I always recognise him as he’s my palest cory). Hopefully that was the issue �� cories are funny little fish…..I could watch them for hours (probably why I’m always worrying I sit at my fish tank watching for ages so I’m always like IS THIS BEHAVIOUR NORMAL? IS THIS A SHADOW OR REDNESS hahahaha)