Need your expertise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vio

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I'm new at this! So i bought a 26 gallon from someone with all equipment : filter, heater, air pump, even some used gravel.
He emptied it few days before i got it. So the filter still had bacteria i suppose, and the gravel.
I filled it with tap water, waited few days to measure chlorine, it was at 0 after 4 days. I then put the filter on, heater, more gravel and few new plants, rocks. The filter head makes litlle surface movement and i have a air stone (now 2).
i then began to measure the water parameters. Gh kh and ph were low, so after few days i added crushed oysters shells and 1 tsp baking soda. Which helped. I also added a handful of my compost as i read it was good for bacteria, and some bread. Then i begin to add 1 tsp of fish food flakes everyday. Quickly,
gh went from <3 to >4, kh went from 3 to 4.5, Ph took longer, went from 6.4 to 6.8 in a week. For info, this parameters are back to start after 1 more week.
Nitrite went from 0.25 to 0 in a week and still is.
Nitrates went 18 to 25 in a week then >25 since a week. But <50.
I did not have the stuff to measure ammonia, but i have been since 4 days and its at 0.
So now, my question is : is it cycled or i messed up??
Should i add more food to see if ammonia spike? But when should i measure?
And what to do for gh, kh, ph?

Thank you for any help, advise!!

Ps: the plant arent dead, there is even new stems.
And there is fluffy stuff on the bread and food, and a gluey white stuff on tubes, etc...and the water is clear but the window would need a clean.lol

Last edited: