new here doing some cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

js198027

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone! Im new to this fish thing and yes like a lot of us newbies I found this site a little late. I started with a 15 gallon and 4 guppies. yep brought it home set up dumped in fish. know now big mistake. a week later added 3 more guppies and a Chinese algae eater. Shortly after we lost a guppy from the second batch and a few after. Thats when I found this site and the learning began :) So I have had the original 15 gal. for about 2 months now and it now has just 3 guppies 3 mickey mouse 3 black phantom tetras and the Chinese algae eater. I figured the tank was cycled but it really isnt so im doing a fish in cycle with that tank. In the mean time I have read about fish less cycling and bought another 15 that i am trying to fish less cycle. I bought the api master kit and am testing regularly. I think I am on the right track with everything. I do have a couple questions. When I am doing my pwc on the fish in cycle. ( to reduce ammo level) I syphon out water and add temp matched water that I have conditioned with api stress coat +. I add enough to the new water for the entire 15 gallons. Is this all I need to do? The fishless tank has been set up for about a week with ammo at about 3ppm temp is around 86 filter running and 2 air stones. took some decor from original tank but I dont think it had any bacteria to help. Just playing the waiting game. I learned yesterday that you need to shake the second bottle of the trate test really good. so this morning I did my testing and that changed my tests. I want to retest my tap water. Should I leave it sit with a bubbler for 24 hours to test all perimeters correctly or does that just help for correct ph test. Sorry This got so long and I know I left a lot out but wanted to start a thread and start