New Tank, Approx. 1 month

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheScientist

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the world of aquariums, and have a few questions and concerns I'm coming up against:

I have a 20 gallon tank with a whisper EX20 filter, an air pump and the water temperature is around 78-80 F. I use conditioner, and some aquarium salt. I do a 30% water change each week, and seem to lose a fish after each water change.

In addition, I seem to have some fry swimming around (probably bought a pregnant one) - and they seem to be okay (survived a week in this tank).

I used to have 2 Hi-Fin platies, 2 lyretail mollies and 2 red swordtails, but since I started the tank - I've lost the platies, one of the swordtails and one of the mollies.

Does anyone have any suggestions for what I may be doing wrong? The local pet store suggested I use a stress coat conditioner, and I'm looking into planting the tank and air stones.

Thank you for any help!

Did you cycle the tank? And are you using a water conditioner to prepare the water for changes?

Yes, I cycled the tank before adding the two platies in early January.

And I used the water conditioner before adding the water into the tank (I added the conditioner to the tub of new water).

For reference, the ammonia, nitrates and pH are all fine - I check every week.

The...