New tank, fish dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bleubelle

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,
I'm new to aquariums and wasn't smart, and now I'm paying for it. Really want to get this right so our aquarium can thrive.

I didn't cycle the water (didn't even know what that meant). 10 gallon freshwater tank. Filled, added Start rite. After a few days, got 5 neon, 2 bloodfin, and 5 black skirt tetras. I've been losing about 1 a day...3 neons and one bloodfin gone. Black skirts are doing ok.

Tested last night with API Master kit, and here are the stats:
82 degrees (too warm - turned down the heater)
pH: 7.8 (on the high side for tetras, as I understand)
Ammonia: .25
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 20

I'm concerned about my survivors. The bloodfin is acting strangely, swimming very quickly in place in one spot kind of mid-to-low in the tank, relatively close to the filter. His gills look red to me. Black skirts are acting fine, but a few are kind of translucent and I can see red along the spine. Neons are acting ok. No white spots or bulging on any of them, and, besides this bloodfin, none have been acting particularly strangely prior to dying.

I got them at Petco, and since then have found a reputable small shop that's willing to help. Without the water stats, they thought maybe a bacterial infection. Added a capful of Prime last night...they said I could do a capful every 2 days until it's under control. Planning to cut feeding to every other day. I'm taking out dead fish as soon as I notice them. The tanks at Petco had several dead fish...we thought that just happened in that environment (I know...naive!!).

Any ideas? Like I said, I know I got off on the wrong foot, but would like to recover if possible! I've done a ton of research, but just can't put my finger on the best route from here...

Hi I did the same about a year a go