New tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

El tio

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Bought a 10 gallon tank kit for my threw year old, set it up with sand , and have a heater, I started it up today, no fish in it, I mixed in the tetra water conditioner and jungle start zyme. Now what do I do, I'm a beginner at this.

You definitely need to cycle the tank. I don't believe that cycle zyme is enough. If the tank was for you and not a child, I'd go for a fishless cycling method because us adults can be a little more patient. i can understand how impatient kids can be, so I'd probably go fish-in but with some hardy fish and frequent partial water changes. Zebra Danios are best known for fish-in cycling. But since they are very active swimmers, they should have at least 20g's. However, you can use some Cherry Barbs to start off with. Those guys are great and are hardy IME. I've cycled with them in my first tank without any losses.

El tio said:
Bought a 10 gallon tank kit for my threw year old, set it up with sand , and have a heater, I started it up today, no fish in it, I mixed in the tetra water conditioner and jungle start zyme. Now what do I do, I'm a beginner at this.

You mentioned sand and heater, but you did get a filter too right? Or is it too obvious you just didn't bother to mention that part? LOL

Thanks for replying, well I can do the no fish cycle, she will be ok waiting, I just want to do it the right way so that when I do get fish they last long and want the water clear

No, no filter, lol naw jk, yea the kit came with a filter and the light and I have a air pump on it also