Ney guy - New tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SNewlin06

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone - I've lurked around this site for awhile, but I have just gotten a bit more serious about this hobby and finally registered.

I've been hobbling along with a little 10 gallon tank. Complete newbie purchase with lots of bad advice from my local independent pet store. I tried to avoid the chains - but recently found a lot better advise and help at Petsmart... after a year of frustration, dead fish, upset kids and upset daddy I think I have it figured out a little bit.

Yesterday i made a big buy (for me) - Marineland 46G bow tank/stand combo with their big LED day/night light. I intend to setup with a sand substrate (no more dyed gravel for me! Chased that problem for 4 months!). I want to put some short live plants in it like hairgrass and a few swords, but mostly want mixed areas of hairgrass and open sand bottom.

I have a Fluval HOB filter rated to 55 gallons that I'm going to put on this with the plan to upgrade to a good cannister filter in a few months when the bank account reloads. I have 40G airpump to run a couple small airstones and 1 bubble wall. I have one of those cheap Grech GUP-01 UV sterilizers and a heater. Ideally all the hardware will fit in the right rear corner of the tank, and the bubble wall will run in front of it to help disguise the gear.

I'm backing the tank up against my staircase, so the kids will be able to see the tank through the back on the stairs, and through the bow in the front. Area is out of direct sunlight.

Last night I got everything home, rinsed off the tank and laid out air lines. I hope rinse enough sand to get that in tonight and start filling with water. I'm being very careful to make sure no chemicals or debris remain on the equipment.