Omar is sick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hclifford

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there! I need advice for my fish Omar. He is a betta fish.
I set up a 4 gallon Biorb tank 3 months ago and everything seemed to go fine at first. I let the tank cycle for a month and then added Omar. He was doing well but then I noticed that the end of his tail looked like it was missing and he had developed some black patches on his body. I read up on what this could be and it seemed like fin rot. I tried Melafix which did not seem to help so then I tried API Fin and Body antibiotics. I also used some aquarium salt for freshwater fish as I read that this can help sometimes as well. I noticed my pH and kH were also very high so I used a pH decreaser which made the water very murky and didn't really seem to help decrease the levels. Please understand that I am new to owning fish and did not realize that you are supposed to use a hospital tank when doing antibiotics, so I do realize that I made an error in giving the meds in his regular tank. I also have been researching his Biorb tank and the ceramic media that it comes with and am wondering if this could be part of the problem as well. Nothing seems to be improving his fin and I'm worried that it won't grow back. I think I'm going to try putting him in a hospital tank and redoing antibiotics. In the meantime I'm going to thoroughly clean his main tank and let it cycle for a bit again. Thanks in advance for any advice!

What are your water parameters? pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

What is your normal water change schedule? How much? How often?