Oranda goes on vacation :-)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shany

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I am new to this site but kind of have a cute story I would like to share.
Last week I posted my first post on this website regarding my Oranda with swim bladder. I had read online where a vet had sutured a cork to an Oranda's dorsal fin to assist the fish with staying upright due to swim bladder. Anyway, didn't get any responses on my idea I came up with but I did want to update on how this precious little fish is doing.
I did not follow through on my idea of super gluing a piece of cork to her fin. Although I still think it would have worked. :) Please keep in mind that I worked as an RN for several years so I like to think "outside of the box" when it comes to medical treatment. But what I did do was to continue feeding her green peas. I was pretty sure last week that the reason for her swim bladder was constipation. I had just recently purchased the Oranda and had not seen her poop since I brought her home. So I fasted for 3 days, then started the peas after that. BUT all long I have to be honest that I was not hopeful that I could help her. After day 7 I had still not seen her poop and she was swimming with her head completely down. Also not wanting to eat. I had to pretty much force the peas into her mouth.