Pet Shop Ettiquette

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Talvari

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Im sure everyone know by now that I work at a petstore in the fish department. Ive been working there for two years now. I have a two year degree in Animal Science. I've had fish tanks since I was 14. (I will be 24 in a matter of days.)

I'd like to make a post, somewhat tongue-in-cheek, about things that bug me about the average customer.

"I know all about fish."

Granted, a very select few that I come across DO know about fish. But 90% of the time, the follow up with "I kept an Oscar, two convicts, and a jack Dempsey in a 40 gallon tank and they lived for a full four years!" or "Ive kept goldfish in bowls before. They lived for a long time- a whole two years! Don't tell me it cant be done!" or "You don't need to know the size of my tank. Just get me the fish,"- and come to find out they are trying to put a bala shark, six tiger barbs, and a pleco in a ten gallon tank.

Not all of us who work in pet stores are ignorant when it comes to fish, so please don't use this line. We hear it a lot, so as soon as the words come out of our mouth, we automatically assume you know nothing about fish. If a pet store employee is ignorant about fish.. Well, please just try to grin and bear it, and respectfully agree to disagree.

"Its just a fish"

Usually stated when they are trying to put a too-large-of-fish into too small of a tank. If you *really* feel this way, why bother getting a pet fish at all?

"They never grow that big"

I hate this argument. Its counterproductive. Of course the goldfish you put into a 1 gallon bowl never grows larger than a few inches. It doesn't have any room, the water is sewage, and he has no space to swim. Its the same thing as a child who faced malnutrition growing up. Of course the kid isn't going to reach his/her full potential!