Planted Aquarium For My Dorm- PLEASE ASSIST

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

burzw0538

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First I would like it to be known that I am a Newbie to this site....and relatively to fish keeping.

I have/had an apartment while I attend my 2 year school. My Girlfriend then kind of talked me into getting a fish tank going to help me deal with the move. I have been keeping fish for about a year now and its been a hobby that has consumed my interests. Recently I found that my College life has lead me to UW Oshkosh and it seems that the Dorms at Oshkosh only allow a 10 gallon tank.

I currently have a 5 gal hex tank in which I keep 6 guppies, 2 albino mystery snails (Currently in process of breeding), and a walmart special aquatic plant (not sure what it is, some kind of small fern) and a small shrimp. I really would like a planted tank, without co2, and be able to raise my fish in it at the dorms.

I am prepared to buy a new 10 gal tank because I feel the lighting in the hex may not be enough to support my plans to start this planted tank. I was wondering if I could get some feed back about what I should get for plants or a tank. Basically any feed back would be appreciated.

well i wouldnt try to breed bystery snails in that small of tank. they lay eggs above the water line and can hatch hundreds of them at a time.

a new 10 is your best bet i would get a incandescent hood and replace the bulbs with the cfl screw in bulbs. this will give you a good source of light. i would also keep the stocking low since it might be a little crazy at times. might not be able to get all those wcs done weekly.

as for plants i would stick to anubiast java ferns crypts and moss. you can have your self a nice little low light tank to take your mind of the crazy school days.