Purchasing first fish this weekend....really nervous....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scrmom

Aquarium Advice Activist
We are taking the plunge. I do have a few questions. 1) Late at night I see a lot of worms comings out rocks. (brisstleworms?) are they ok to be there? 2) Late at night there are little bugs crawling all over the place and they havd made little tunnels through sand, you can see them bylooking from the outside looking in. Are these ok? 3)There is another bug that looks like a snail/slug without shell, but it has a small hardsurface on his back? I have 3 or 5 of these. Are these ok?

I am worried about these odd things being in the tank and could cause my fish to develop some infection?

Will my skunk cleaner and peppermint shrimp prevent disease?

Just a newbie here myself, but in my opinion none of those things you mentioned will cause any disease in your fish. The little "bugs" will probably end up being fish food! Whether or not bristleworms are desirable seems debatable by folks, but they do clean up stuff and keep the sand moving. The small sluglike things are probably nudibranches, from your description - but they don't have any "hard" surfaces. Just a snail without a shell.