Question about corys!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rossco

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys I have prob a dumb question but Im fairly new to this lol. I have 2 sterbia cories. And was thinking of adding 1 or 2 more of a different type. Would the school together if I only got 1. I'm thinkin panda or peppered! Thanks !

First, cories Shoal, Shoaling is different from schoolkng in that, shoals are a loose social.group, but schools are typically tight groups that do they're.best to mimic each others movements, and look like one fish.

And yes, different types of cories will TYPICALLY shoal together,but not breed. I have bronze cories and peppered cories.and they shoal a lot in my 45 long.

Ok mint haha learn something new everyday on AA. ! Thanks dude

I don't think they are racist. I think they are kinda like tiger barbs. Meaning its basically the same species just with differences in color patterns. If I am wrong, I hope someone corrects me.

We could take a lesson from cories, they come in hundreds of colors, shapes (to an extent), and sizes, and yet they will all shoal together like. They are not racist, they understand its in their best interest to just, get along.

We could take a lesson from cories, they come in hundreds of colors, shapes (to an extent), and sizes, and yet they will all shoal together like. They are not racist, they understand its in their best interest to just, get along.

Haha but apparently they won't interbreed haha. Just thought that was funny.

Different species will NOT always swim together. They won't fight. But to see the true Corydoras behavior if you have room a larger group of one species will really show off best. I will mix 2 groups that are not closely related. Some Cories WILL interbreed, which is not a good thing, but is a different and long discussion.