Questions about a Cleanup Crew and Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mharrison86

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to this hobby. I have a 46 gallon bow front tank with 65 lbs of LR, 20 lbs of LS, 40 lbs of Crushed Coral, 3 pajama cardinals, 1 damsel and 1 half-black angel. My tank has been up and running for about 8 weeks now. My ph is 8.2, ammonia is 0, nitrites are 0 but my nitrates are 40 ppm. I have been doing a lot PWC's trying to lower the nitrates down from 80 ppm. I'm still working on it.

I keep getting a lot of brown algae on the tank glass. I have been using a scrub brush to clean it off. My plan is to add a cleanup crew from my LFS soon. When I get a cleanup crew, will they clean the algae off of the glass or will I still have to scrub it off myself. What do you suggest for a cleanup crew? Also, I currently have only a 25 W bulb on my tank. Is this enough lighting for a FOWLR tank? I think the lighting system that came with the tank can handle up to 40 W.

Thanks for your help :!:

Look up diatoms. It's normally seen in new tank setups.

On the nitrates, I'm thinking that's a lot of fish for an 8wk old tank so soon. You may have to scale back on the feeding. I know that's hard for new tank owners becasue of the excitement of the new fish and seeing them eat makes you think they are happier. Overfeeding could be a part of the problem.

Thanks for the response austinsdad. I started cutting back on the feeding to once a day. Is that good enough or should I cut back to feeding them every other day? Do you have any suggestions for a cleanup crew?

austinsdad, I've noticed that you live in Clinton, MD. I live in Brandywine, MD. I have been going to Roozens in Clinton for my aquarium supplies. Can you recommend any other stores in the area? Thanks!