Rams, rams and maybe more rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Schalk

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Good day everyone, I'm new here.

I've been out of the aquarium game and though of starting again. So I went out en bought a huge 59-60 gallon tank and a DIY sump of about 8 gallons from a guy online. It's not the best, but it was cheap.

After two weeks of hard work I finally put my fish in the tank today. I'm going to buy plants tomorrow, I were waiting on a local supplier.

Sorry for the long post this is my first time here.

Currently I have 4 German blue rams (gbr) and 4 golden rams. They are still very young and I've only been able to identify that 2-3 of my golden rams are female so I'm not sure about the rest. And it looks like one of the golden female ram paired up with my "alpha" gbr.

Now my question is how many rams can I fit into my tank. I would like to have at least 1 or 2 pairs breeding, but I'm not that worried if they don't. I will be adding some tetras tomorrow along with the plants.

I saw some black rams at my local pet store and want to get some of those as they look amazing.

Do you think I'm overdoing it with them?

I've also attached a picture of my tank and the only clear picture of one of my gbr. Yes the water is not very clear as I added the log yesterday before I added the fish. It's been 6 hours after I've added the fish and it looks like they are starting to get their own spaces.

Attachments

• IMG_20200319_191531.jpg
    IMG_20200319_191531.jpg
    180.2 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_20200319_192622.jpg
    IMG_20200319_192622.jpg
    255.7 KB · Views: 64
Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Schalk
I would not add an more fish just yet.
The tank is only 2 weeks old and will not be fully cycled. The tank will not have both colonies of bacteria in sufficient numbers to consume the toxic ammonia fish produce.