Replacing substrate for an established tank + rescaping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hana288

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm planning on eventually re-scaping my large 130L tank once I save up enough. I'm a poor Uni student so I plan to do a lot of research beforehand.

When I first set up I had all fake plant and over the last year replaced all the fake plants with live ones (also add Fluval plant micronutrients). I also set up a smaller tank for shrimp and live plants using ADA Aqua Soil soil rather than grave. Which has been much more successful with the live plants.

So I wanted to replace the substrate in my big tank with a bottom layer or ADA Aqua soil or something equivalent and a top layer of black gravel.

However, I not sure how best to do the change. Should I leave the fish in or take them out? Do it in section (probably difficult) or all at once?

I Do have a small 40L tank I could place them in for a short time. However, one of the Gourami I have one is a bit of a d##k and will chase the other fist if they get too close.

I also want to keep as much of the established tank's water as possible and when I did the shrimp tank found that there was an ammonium spick that could have been from the soil (filled it with water from my big tank).

If anyone has any idea for my tank or how to best tack replacing my substrate I would love to hear from you.

Fish
- 5 rosy fine tetras
- 2 Dwarf Gourami
- 1 moonlight gourami
- 2 Three spot gourami (One is a d##k)
- 1 pleco

And yes I have found out that the moonlight Three spot gourami is not recommended with the Dwarf Gourami because they may be aggressive. However, I haven't had any trouble with them together apart from one of the three-spot gourami who only chases the others a little bit (sometimes) when they get too close.

Attachments

• IMG_20170501_183452.jpg