Rookie Saltwater Aquairum Startup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Redrdr

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone, I'm new to this and trying to start a saltwater aquarium for my 2 yr old daughter. We recently purchashed a nice 60 gallon marineland tank, along with a 200 watt heater, and an aquaclear 110 power filter for starters... I have done some research, but still am not sure as to what else I need exactly. From what I've read, a protein skimmer is a good investment along with a pump to add some current to the water. I would appreciate any thoughts and insight anyone may have. I wanted to use some type of live rock, nothing too fine for the bottom of the tank but I'm not sure as to what to get. I've read that Aragonite is good.... I'm looking basically to start up our aquarium and upgrade it gradually, but want the best for our fish. Any advice or suggestions would be great.

Thanks.:fish2:

From my personal experience I at first just used all the basic stock equipment (stock pump filter and lights) for my 29g. I started with 25 pounds of live rock (almost a pound per gallon) from my local lfs and i used 40lbs of live sand all as my biological filtration system. For just starting the tank you really dont need any major upgrades while its in the first cycle at least. I got my heater after I added my first fish, I got a different filtration method besides just the stock filter to decrease bio load and bring down nitrates. Finally I didnt buy a powerhead for better water circulation until i started with my corals. I definitely believe that a gradual upgrade as you go is the best method to ensure that you get the exact equipment you need.

So you think I'm alright starting with that and getting a protein skimmer and or powerhead/pump later?