Room lights stressing fish??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JackB1990

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I am pretty new to this. I have a planted 9 gallon tank stocked with guppies and tetras. I leave my aquarium lights on for about 8 hours a day. Recently purchased a timer to make things easier. I have the tank in the living room. My question is, will my room light stress my fish after their tank light has gone out? So I am not always working the same shift patterns and so will very often come home after the tank light has gone out so I am having to come home and put rooms lights on in a previously darkened room. If the fish have settled down for the night or are resting, will this not disturb their sleep patterns and/or stress them longterm? I have noticed sometimes when i do this that a couple of the tetras start to dart around the tank for a few minutes but usually calm down. I try to use a softer light such as a lamp rather than the main room light. Am i overthinking things or could this be an issue? Any help would be appreciated

Thank you,
Jack

No. It will be fine. In fact its a good idea to have the room lights come on (or get natural daylight in the room) a little before your tank light comes on, and turn the room lights off a little bit after the tank light goes out. This is so the fish arent startled by the intense light above suddenly coming on or going off.

If the tetras dart about when you turn the room light on, then it is stressing them. I would get a desk lamp and have it in the room but on the opposite side of the room to the aquarium. Have it on a timer so it comes on 10 minutes before the tank light goes out and it can stay on until you get home and go to bed. This will allow the fish some light and they won't be stressed out when the room goes from complete dark to bright light.

--------------------